TEI Board/Council election results

Dear TEI Community,

I’m pleased to announce the results of the TEI elections 2012. This year we had a extraordinarily rich set of candidates, a fact that made the electoral process at once exciting and very difficult as so many valuable and competent people have accepted to stand for election. Our gratitude goes to everybody who accepted this task: a rich set of candidate speaks for the liveliness of the community and its willingness to contribute to make the TEI a better home and better service for everybody. We hope that the unsuccessful candidates will be willing to stand for elections in future.

The people that were elected for the Board of Directors are:

  • Lou Burnard
  • Arianna Ciula
  • John Walsh
  • Glen Worthey

Congratulations! Our deepest gratitude also goes to the outgoing member of the Board, Marin Dacos: thank you very much for you valuable contribution, we hope you will consider to serve for the TEI again in future.
You can see the details of the vote from here: https://opavote.appspot.com/results/678015/0

The people that were elected for the Technical Council are:

  • Syd Bauman
  • Hugh Cayless
  • Elli Mylonas
  • Sebastian Rahz

Congratulations! Our deepest gratitude goes to the outgoing members of the Council: Piotr Banski and Stuart Yates: thank you both so much for your outstanding contribution to the work of the Council, you will be missed.
You can see the details of the vote form here: https://opavote.appspot.com/results/678015/1

We were very pleased with the returns of votes we had this year, which has grown around 40% with respect to previous years. This, we believe, is due to the extreme richness of valuable candidates, but also to the adoption of a new voting system. More informations about the voting system, including a series of XSLT built by David Sewell to elaborate the votes returned by the OpaVote system can be found here: http://www.tei-c.org/Membership/Meetings/2012/mm58.xml#voting

Thank you once again to everybody that stand for elections, to the elected candidates and the outgoing officers: the TEI owe you loads!


Dr Elena Pierazzo
Lecturer in Digital Humanities
Department in Digital Humanities
King’s College London
26-29 Drury Lane
London WC2B 5RL

Phone: 0207-848-1949
Fax: 0207-848-2980